# 13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces and Territories, 1867-1946, Legislatures and Prime Ministers, 1934-46, and Present Ministries as at Jan. 1, 1947—continued

### ALBERTA

### LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Commission		Name	Date of Commission	
GEORGE H. V. BULYEA. GEORGE H. V. BULYEA. ROBERT GEORGE BRETT. ROBERT GEORGE BRETT. WILLIAM EGBERT	Oct. 6,	1915 1920 1	WILLIAM L. WALSH	Apr. 2 Sept. 1 Mar. 2	24, 1931 10, 1936 20, 1937

<sup>1</sup> Second term.

## LEGISLATURES, 1934-461

Date of Legislature		Number of	Date of	Date of	
		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June 19, 1930 Aug. 22, 1935 Mar. 21, 1940 Aug. 8, 1944	7th General Assembly 8th General Assembly 9th General Assembly 10th General Assembly	9 4	Jan. 29, 1931	Feb. 16, 1940	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1934-46 were: 6th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. R. G. Reid; 7th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 3, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. Wm. Aberhart; 8th Ministry, sworn in May 31, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. Ernest C. Manning.

<sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not yet expired.

### EIGHTH MINISTRY

(Party standing at latest General Election, Aug. 8, 1944: 51 Social Credit, 3 Independents, 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 1 Soldier Veteran, and 3 Servicemen's Representatives [1 Navy, 1 Army, 1 Air Force] elected January, 1945.)

Office	Name	Date of Appointment	
Premier and Provincial Treasurer	Hon. Ernest C. Manning	June 1, 1943 Sept. 12, 1944 Jan. 5, 1937 Sept. 3, 1935	
Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister of Trade and Industry  Minister of Agriculture	Hon. C. E. GERHART	June 1, 1943 Sept. 12, 1944 Dec. 3, 1940	

## BRITISH COLUMBIA

## LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission	
J. W. TRUTCH ALBERT NORTON RICHARDS CLEMENT F. CORNWALL HUGH NELSON EDGAR DEWDNEY THOMAS R. McInnes SIF HENRI G. JOLY DE LOTBINIERE JAMES DUNSMUIR T. W. PATERSON	June 27, 1876 June 21, 1881 Feb. 8, 1887 Nov. 1, 1892 Nov. 18, 1897 June 21, 1900 May 11, 1906	Sir Frank S. Barnard. Col. Edward G. Prior. Walter C. Nichol. R. Randolph Bruce. J. W. Fordham Johnson. Eric W. Hamber LtCol. William C. Woodward. Col. the Hon. Charles Arthur Banks, C.M.G.	Dec. 24, 1920 Jan. 21, 1926 July 18, 1931 Apr. 29, 1936 Aug. 29, 1941	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Still in office serving second term.